## Agriculture Secretary Vilsack Announces Appointments to the Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture

June 24, 2011 3:44 AM ET

**WASHINGTON, June 24, 2011** – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today announced appointments to the reactivated Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture, or AC21. Appointees will initially serve one or two-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to six consecutive years.

"This advisory committee will come together to continue investigating the challenges of coexistence among different forms of agricultural production," said Vilsack. "I hope this committee will recommend workable solutions that will enhance the ability of all farmers to grow the crops they want in order to effectively meet the needs of their customers."

The AC21 is composed of 22 members from 16 states. The members represent the biotechnology industry, the organic food industry, farming communities, the seed industry, food manufacturers, state government, consumer and community development groups, the medical profession, and academic researchers.

Russell C. Redding, Interim Dean of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Delaware Valley College, in Aspers, Penn., will serve as Chair of the AC21.

The other members of the AC21 are:

Isaura Andaluz, Executive Director, Cuatro Puertas, Albuquerque, N.M.;

Paul C. Anderson, Executive Director, International Programs, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, St. Louis, Mo.;

Laura L. Batcha, Chief of Policy and External Relations, Organic Trade Association, Putney, Vt.;

Charles M. Benbrook, Chief Scientist, The Organic Center, Enterprise, Ore.;

Barry R. Bushue, Farmer, Vice-President of the American Farm Bureau Federation and President of the Oregon Farm Bureau, Boring, Ore.;

Daryl D. Buss, Dean, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis.;

Lynn E. Clarkson, Farmer and President, Clarkson Grain Company, Cerro Gordo, Ill.;

Leon C. Corzine, Farmer, Assumption, Ill.;

Michael S. Funk, Chairman, United Natural Foods, Inc., Nevada City, Calif.;

Douglas C. Goehring, North Dakota Commissioner of Agriculture, Menoken, N.D.;

Melissa L. Hughes, Corporate Counsel and Director, Government Affairs, CROPP Cooperative/Organic Valley Family of Farms, Viroqua, Wis.;

Darrin Ihnen, Farmer and Chair, National Corn Growers Association, Hurley, S.D.;

Gregory A. Jaffe, Director, Biotechnology Project, Center for Science in the Public Interest, McLean, Va.;

David W. Johnson, Assistant Director of Research, Cal/West Seeds, La Crosse, Wis.;

Keith F. Kisling, Farmer and Chairman, Oklahoma Wheat Commission, Burlington, Okla.;

Josephine O. (Josette) Lewis, Director, Agricultural Development, Arcadia Biosciences, Davis, Calif.;

Mary-Howell R. Martens, Farmer and Manager, Lakeview Organic Grain LLC, Penn Yan, N.Y.;

Marty D. Matlock, Professor of Ecological Engineering, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.;

Angela M. Olsen, Senior Advisor and Associate General Counsel, DuPont Company and Pioneer Hi-Bred, Arlington, Va.;

Jerome B. Slocum, Farmer and President, North Mississippi Grain Company, Coldwater, Miss.;

Latresia A. Wilson, Vice-President, Black Farmers and Agriculturalists Association, Florida Chapter, farmer, and physician, Ocala, Fla..